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General

e The Warlock no longer gives out Talismans as re-
wards for completing simple quests. Instead, you
must prove your worth by making it through his
Maze and picking the correct door.

e When you land on the Warlock’s Cave, you may
visit the Warlock or simply end your turn. If you
visit the Warlock, move to the Starting Area of his
Maze.

e Characters in the Maze are not affected by Events
on the main board, or by Spells cast by other play-
ers. The Maze is a magical area created and
maintained by the Warlock, and as such is not
affected by anything outside this area. Players
inside the Maze MAY cast Spells on each other.
(The Warlock actually encourages this!)

2 Setting up the Maze

2.1 The Maze Tiles

e The Maze will be different each time a character
enters it. This is done by random placement of 16
tiles, each with different rooms, corridors, etc.

e Shuffle the 16 Maze tiles and keep them face
down. Set aside 4 random tiles; these will not
be used in this Maze. Place the remaining 12
tiles face down, one on each space on the Maze
board. The tiles are not revealed until a character
lands on the space.

e This process should be repeated each time a
character enters the Maze. Itis not done if a char-
acter enters the Maze when there is already an-
other one in it. (That’s the best time to go in!)

e The last (fourth) column contains corridor spaces.
Ignore these unless using the Optional Rules de-
tailed below.

2.2 The Treasure Chambers

e There are 3 Doors at the end of the Maze. Each
door guards a Treasure Chamber. Two of the
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Treasure Chambers contain Talismans, and the
other contains a Magic Object of the character’s
choice. (You may look through the Adventure
deck and choose any Magic Object.)

Shuffle the 3 Treasure tiles. Place one face down
in each Treasure Chamber at the end of the Maze.

Movement

Movement in the Maze may not be affected by
Followers, special abilities, Spells, etc. The only
exceptions are Maze cards or tiles that specifi-
cally allow you to do so.

You normally move one space each turn. You
may move off a tile in a certain direction only if
a corridor leads off in that direction. (You may
not move diagonally, unless specifically permitted
by a Maze Card or tile.) You may only move to
a face-up tile if it is connected to your tile by an
adjoining corridor.

Face-down tile — If you enter a face-down tile, turn
that tile over. You may orient the tile any way you
like. However, you must place it so that one cor-
ridor lines up with the tile you moved from. After
you enter the tile, encounter the tile as explained
below (Section F).

Face-up tile — If you move onto a face-up tile, you
may encounter it as normal, or you may treat it as
a Corridor tile (i.e., you do not encounter the tile
and you may make another move).

Wrap-around

— Due to the Maze’s magic, you may move off
the “top” Maze tile and onto the correspond-
ing “bottom” Maze tile, and vice-versa.

— As usual, the tiles must contain corridors that
line up in order for you to use the wrap-
around.

Types of Maze Tiles:

— Corridor Tile (5) - You may continue moving.

— Normal Room Tile (6) - Draw 1 card from the
Warlock’s Maze deck.



4 Special Room Tiles

— Special Room Tile (5) - Refer to the Special
Rooms section below.

4 Special Room Tiles

4.1 The Starting Area

Move here as directed by the rules (usually when
first moving into the Maze).

Three doors lead into the Maze. You may enter
through any of the doors.

You do not draw any cards while in the Starting
Area.

4.2 Teleporter

End your turn. On your next turn, you may move
to ANY adjacent tile (even diagonally, but you may
not wrap-around), including a Treasure Chamber.

You may also use the Teleporter to exit the Maze.
On your next turn, roll a die. If you roll a 2-6,
move to any space in the Outer or Inner Regions.
If you roll a 1, the person to your right chooses
the space you move to.

4.3 Magic Spirit

Roll 1 die to determine the Spirit’s reaction to you:

1 — Drains 1 Life from you.

2 — Teleports you back to the Starting Area.

3 — Disappears.

4 — Allows you to switch any two face-up tiles.
5 — Gives you 1 Craft.

6 — Tells you the layout of the Maze. You may
look at all of the face-down tiles in the Maze,
and turn over as many as you wish.

4.4 Warlock’s Chamber

You come across the Warlock, hard at work in his
Chamber researching some new spell. He chal-
lenges you to a mental duel. If you accept, you
must wager 1 Magic Object. Fight a psychic com-
bat against the Warlock, who has a Craft of 5. You
may not add bonuses from Followers, Objects, or
Spells.

If you decline the challenge or do not have a
Magic Object, he teleports you to the Warlock’s
space on the main board.

e If you win the duel, the Warlock gives you a Tal-

isman and makes you his apprentice. Take the
Warlock Apprentice card. He then sends you
back to his space on the main board.

e If you lose, the Warlock keeps your Magic Object.

4.5 Magic Circle

¢ You may enter the Circle if you wish. If you do, roll

1 die to see what happens:

1 — Drains 1 Craft.

2 — Attacked by a Spirit (Craft = 6)
3 — Paralyzed — lose your next turn.
4 —Gain 1 Spell.

5 — Reveals what is located in each of the Trea-
sure Chambers. (You may look at the 3 Trea-
sure Tiles.)

6 — Teleports you to tile of your choice (except
Treasure Chambers).

4.6 Rotating Room

e Your turn ends when you enter the Room. (Do not

draw a card.)

When you leave the Room on your next turn, the
Room may rotate, and you may not be able to
control the direction you leave from. Roll 1 die to
determine the effect:

1 - The Room does not rotate, but you find the
doors all locked. You are stuck here for the
rest of the turn. Roll again next turn.

2 — Exit via the top corridor.

3 — Exit via the right corridor.

4 — Exit via the bottom corridor.
5 — Exit via the left corridor.

6 — The Room does not rotate. Exit from any cor-
ridor you choose.

4.7 Treasure Chamber
¢ Flip the Treasure tile over and claim your reward.

¢ If you found a Talisman, move immediately to the

Warlock’s space on the main board. On your next
turn, move on from there as normal. You may
NOT reenter the Warlock’'s Maze on your next
turn, but you may enter it again on a later turn.



6 Optional rules
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¢ If you did not find a Talisman, you may move to
the Warlock’s space as described above, or you
may move back to the Starting Area. If you move
to the Starting Area, the Maze remains the same,
unless you ask the Warlock to reset it.

Resetting the Maze

¢ Depending on how the tiles are placed, it is may
happen that you are unable to reach any of the
Treasure Chambers. It is possible for all 3 tiles in
one column to be dead ends. If this happens, you
may ask the Warlock to start over.

e When you start over, move to the Starting Area.
You lose your next turn as the Warlock recreates
his Maze. Remove all of the Maze tiles (both face-
down and face-up), and re-do the Maze as de-
scribed in Section |l above.

Optional rules

e You may find that the Maze is simply too big and
takes too long to get through. If this is the case,
you may opt to use only 3 of the 4 columns of
Maze spaces. The last column (i.e., the one clos-
est to the Treasure Chamber) has Corridor sec-
tions drawn on the board. Use these in place of
putting Maze tiles on these spaces.

e Set up the Maze as normal, except you will only

use 9 of the 16 tiles, and you will not place any
Maze tiles in the last column.



